Tight Coupling between View and ViewModel

Aug 3, 2010 at 10:32 PM

Hi Josh

I just recently bought your MVVM book and must say it been very helpful and interesting so far. I'm a WPF developer out on the field and as I'm reading your code and source code, I can't help but notice that the views have a tight coupling to the view models, e.g. the BubbleBurstView creates a BubbleBurstViewModel in the Xaml. I didn't think one would let the views have a reference to the view models in such a manner, perhaps using an interface to the view models would be more suitable. One would need to have loose coupling like in situations when you would have to have a plug-in architecture, or want to use a "different" library of view models for whatever reasons, or just following good design.

I'm sure you must have your reasons, and I'm also actively learning more about MVVM, and trying to find ways to build a good design, so I'm very keen to hear your views on this.

Cheers

Ed

Coordinator
Aug 4, 2010 at 3:08 PM

Hi Ed,

In my mind, the tight coupling between a View and ViewModel is found in the binding paths.  Binding paths require the View to have knowledge of the ViewModel's property names.  There have been some attempts to ease the pain of this coupling, such as T4 templates that analyze XAML to find binding paths that contain invalid property names, but the problem is inescapable. 

The coupling that you point out, where Views reference ViewModels, is not necessarily a bad thing.  Having a VM reference a View is usually a no-no, since it reduces testability and skinability.  But Views always implicitly reference VMs, via their DataContext (or through other means).  Explicitly referencing a VM from the code-behind of a View is just building upon the implicit VM dependency a View already has.